FAQ  •  Login

Error loading Blade Runner in Win XP

Moderator: BR796164

<<

NuthinFluxin

Rookie Rep Detect
Rookie Rep Detect

Posts: 2

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:32 pm

Post Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:39 pm

Error loading Blade Runner in Win XP

Hey everyone, I'm having trouble loading Blade Runner in Win XP. Getting an error: "The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application."

Used to play this game often on this machine before I updated to SP2. So much for feeling nostalgic.

All suggestions greatly appreciated -
<<

THX1138

User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1411

Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 6:00 pm

Location: Denver, Colorado

Post Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:52 pm

i hope this isnt just another single post like before (the other guy). the guest forums are for single posts/questions like this.
"Don't be a dick!" -Wil Wheaton
<<

NuthinFluxin

Rookie Rep Detect
Rookie Rep Detect

Posts: 2

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 5:32 pm

Post Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:35 pm

While its true that I'm a new member, I joined for a reason. If this belongs elsewhere then I'll gladly post there.
<<

THX1138

User avatar

Moderator
Moderator

Posts: 1411

Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 6:00 pm

Location: Denver, Colorado

Post Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:50 pm

well, guest area is meant for those who want to post only one question or comment, wheras registering and posting oustide the "guest" forum is meant for those who actually want to keep in touch with the forums, and not just post one topic.

as for your problem, i have XP with SP2, and it works fine. its probably a 3rd party app interfering. you can remove SP2 by using system restore, and that will revert your PC to the time before you installed SP2 and all those crap windows updates.
"Don't be a dick!" -Wil Wheaton
<<

Gene Ettix

User avatar

Blade Runner
Blade Runner

Posts: 618

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 6:00 pm

Location: Tyrell Corp. U.S.

Post Sat Apr 30, 2005 8:17 am

Make a dual boot on computer with XP for normal work and Win 98 for old school games. :wink:

Of course, if you play only one oldie in a year, it doesn't make big sense.
ImageImageImage
<<

JGO

Rookie Rep Detect
Rookie Rep Detect

Posts: 4

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 6:13 pm

Post Fri Jun 24, 2005 6:33 pm

There is an MS support article on this, basically you have a file corrupt.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... duct=winxp

Hope that helps out.

--jake
<<

PSyM0n

Rookie Rep Detect
Rookie Rep Detect

Posts: 28

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:34 am

Location: Australia

Post Mon Sep 05, 2005 8:19 pm

forget everything go to
http://www.visualtour.com/downloads/
download the 'XP_FIX' load it up and it works absoloutly fine this works for all fairly old games that arenot ment for XP
8)
_-_- PsY-o1 -_-_
<<

bthomas878

Rookie Rep Detect
Rookie Rep Detect

Posts: 4

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:30 pm

Post Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:02 am

just so all you know the reason this has happened is that with SP2 the support/option to run 16bit apps is removed. The solution to this is to disable system restore and to recreate the autoexec.nt file (available on ms website dont rem the exact url)
<<

Kipple

User avatar

Honorary Member

Posts: 1266

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:00 pm

Location: Satellite 2

Post Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:45 pm

PSyM0n wrote:forget everything go to
http://www.visualtour.com/downloads/
download the 'XP_FIX' load it up and it works absoloutly fine this works for all fairly old games that arenot ment for XP
8)


Worked for me! Thanx!
Image

Return to The Blade Runner Game

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron